Diebold: Wahlsysteme mit ‘Clear Button’ und Stimmenverlusten

papierwahl1
der beitrag ist auch auf papierwahl.at zu lesen

Wie Wired und Slashdot berichten, wurde ein Bericht veröffentlicht (.pdf), der untersucht, warum einige Wahlcomputer der Firma Premier Election Solutions (ehemals Diebold) letzten November in Humboldt County (Kalifornien/USA) Stimmen verloren haben.
In der damals eingesetzten Softwareversion gab es einen Fehler der Stimmen verschwinden ließ. Dieser Fehler war Premier Election Solutions seit spätestens Oktober 2004 bekannt:

The company, however, did not notify the Election Assistance Commission (EAC), the National Association of State Election Directors (NASED) or the California Secretary of State. Instead, the company sent a vague email to elections officials in the 11 California counties using GEMS version 1.18.19 with the Central Count Server at the time. […] The email […] advised the county officials to create and immediately delete an empty Deck before scanning any real ballots, but did not explain why this new procedure was necessary.

Der Bericht enthält aber auch noch ein weiteres interessantes Detail. So hat es bei einigen Softwareversionen einen ‘Clear Button’ zur Löschung des Audit Logs (Aufzeichnungen über systemkritische Vorgänge) im System gegeben:

The Clear buttons […] allow inadvertent or malicious destruction of critical audit trail records in all Gems version 1.18.19 jurisdictions, risking the accuracy and integrity of elections conducted using this voting system. Five years after the company recognized the need to remove the Clear buttons from the GEMS audit log screens, not only […] Counties in California but jurisdictions in other parts of the country […] continue to use Gems version 1.18.19…

Die Schaltfläche zum Löschen ist zudem neben dem “Print” und “Save As” Button angeordnet, so dass es kürzlich in Kalifornien auch zu einem versehentlichen Löschen des Audit Logs kam. Premier Election Solutions hat in diesem Zusammenhang offensichtlich nicht daran gedacht, eine Warnung anzuzeigen, bevor die Löschung durchgeführt wird. In aktuellen Softwareversionen wurde zwar der ‘Clear Button’ wieder entfernt, doch ist es nicht angedacht, die betroffenen alten Versionen zu upgraden.

Adding a Clear button is easy, but there are too many reasons why doing that is a bad idea.


Picture: blog.wired.com

-> Humboldt Report to EAC (.pdf)

[via bendrath]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s